Quick contacts

Ministerial team


Revd Deborah Snowball

01923 772627

Methodist Minister

Revd Richard Lowson 01923 223906

Associate Priest (Self-Supporting Minister)

Revd Scott Talbott 07802 244877
Reader Michael Baker 01923 776109

Church Office

Open 9.15am - 12.45pm (Monday - Thursday)
Church Secretary Karen Ellis 721002


Churchwardens (A)

David Carruthers
Jane Earl
David Hibbert

07831 387541

Church Stewards (M) June Poppleton 773388
Church Council Secretary Buzz Coster 775908
Methodist Council Secretary Petra Hedges 222715
Treasurer Robert Kay 773470
Church Giving Advisor David Gilbert 332572

Electoral Roll (A)
Methodist Membership Roll (M)

John Glidden 223613


Charitable Giving Committee Jane Earl (Chairman) 711695
Harvest Giving Jennett Day 237248
Community & Outreach Committee David Carruthers (Chairman) 07831 387541
Fabric & Churchyard Committee David Hibbert (Secretary) 773735

Helen Swain
Mary Weatherilt

07593 532567
Stewardship & Finance Committee John Rhodes (Chairman) via Church Office


LINK (Church Magazine) Editorial Team
Subscriptions: Jane Pummell
Newsletter Revd Deborah Snowball 772627
Website Buzz Coster 775908


Altar servers Sue & Chris Hillier 779580
Bellringers David Hibbert 773735
Choir Andrew Sykes 718561
07943 601717
Lesson readers June Poppleton 773388
Organist Andrew Sykes 718561
07943 601717
Sacristans David Gilbert & team c/o Church Office
Sidespeople David Hibbert 773735
Welcomers David Carruthers 07831 387541

Christian teaching & prayer

Bible Reading Fellowship Sue Hillier 779580
Exploring Prayer group Revd Deborah Snowball 772627
House groups

4th Tues: Gillian Baker & Brenda Bell
2nd Wed: Jane Pummell

775890 & 772482

Pastoral care

Baptism (Christening) Church Office 721002
Confirmation Church Office 721002
Children's Communion (children aged 7+) Church Office 721002
Home/hospital visits Church Office 721002
Wedding bookings Church Office 721002

Children and young people

Little Angels Claire Husbands
Gillian Thomas
07736 849154
07957 749636
Children's Church Rachel Turvey 01923 773665
X-Team (Youth Group) (Y7+) David Carruthers 07831 387541
Girlguiding UK: Rainbows   call Church Office
Girlguiding UK: Brownies Ali Hampton call Church Office
Girlguiding UK: Guides Tracy Jenkins call Church Office
St Mary’s CofE School   776529

Social and other activities

Coffee After Church (Parish Breakfast) Anne Kay 773470
Events (Social) Committee Chris Hillier 779580
Handbell ringers Joan Fox  
Meet for Tea Joan Martin 775433
Motley Crew drama group Chris Hillier 779580
Sunday Lunch Club Gill Gowing
Maxine Platzman
Threads For Change Beryl Baker 776109


Fabric Committee David Hibbert (Secretary) 773735
Church Centre

Martyn Gowing (Chairman)
David Gilbert (Treasurer)

Cloisters Hall (M) Janet Carruthers (Bookings)
David Morgan (Treasurer)
07799 050532
Flowers Hilary Pearce 896025
Library Michael Baker 776109
Sewing group Beryl Baker 776109
Steeple keeping David Hibbert 773735

Beyond St Mary’s

Action for Children Christine Butler 778001
CARE (07935 269144) Jenny Woods (St Mary’s rep) 447417
Children’s Society Suzanne Powell call Church Office
Wensum Court (Friends) John Walker 720949

[dialling code for all numbers is 01923 unless otherwise specified]

(A) - Anglican   

(M) - Methodist

If no telephone number is listed, please get in touch via the Church Office.

The Church Office
St Mary's Church
Church Street
Hertfordshire WD3 1JB

Telephone 01923 721002


Contact the Webmaster of this site
Last updated: June 4, 2018


This website is maintained on a voluntary basis by Barrow Designs This website is maintained on a voluntary basis by Applebarrow Design